Every child’s ability to communicate develops gradually over time. In It Takes Two to Talk,  the Hanen parent guidebook, we divide early communication and language development into four stages: 

  • Discoverers – react to how they feel and to what is happening around them, but have not yet developed the ability to communicate with a specific purpose in mind.
  • Communicators – send specific messages directly to a person, without using words.
  • First Words Users – use single words (or signs or pictures).
  • Combiners – combine words into sentences of two or three words.

View more at: http://www.hanen.org/Helpful-Info/Articles/Hanen-Four-Stages-of-Early-Communication.aspx?utm_content=bufferc8f32&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&fbclid=IwAR2Olb7Y6U2lwR7H4lpxMPYre-DIJY2-FEOBoTmBDZMPcMYjbTw5o73-gds 

Posted by:Jessica Anderson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.